Gingerbread Cookies with Oat Flour

DSC_0171

Every year, I am in awe of my German friends. They bake, on average, 12 different kinds of Christmas cookies. They usually bake 50 cookies of each kind, so they end up with 600 cookies. While my background does not require such baking duties for the holidays, I do like to bake a variety of cookies to share with friends, teachers, colleagues and neighbors.

So as we finally got ourselves together to embrace the holiday season after various delays from our family flus, viruses and sniffles – picking out  our tree from the rather boney types of Christmas trees sold in Paris, lugging them up to our apartment and digging for our decorations – we kicked off our baking activities last week with Norwegian gingerbread cookies, German Anis star cookies, rolled ginger rolls, classic chocolate chip cookies… and tomorrow I will do some chocolate covered sugar cookies and try out the Swiss spice cookies.

This gingerbread man cookies are so simple and full of good things – wheat germ, flax seeds, oat flour, molasses, brown sugar and sweet butter. I make them a bit on the thick side so that they are moist and fluffy on the inside. Enjoy them with spiced warm milk or hot chocolate. More to come on the cookies…

DSC_0095

DSC_0200

DSC_0191

DSC_0160

Gingerbread Cookies with Oat Flour 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cup oat flour

1 tbsp wheat germ

1 tbsp ground flax seeds

1 tsp ground ginger

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 tsp all spice

1 tsp baking soda

1 stick butter

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

4 tablespoon molasses

1/4 cup brown or white sugar

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2. In a bowl, mix together the first 7 ingredients.

3. Add in the butter and mix until crumbly like corse meal.

4. In another bowl, mix together the egg, the sugar and the molasses, then slowly add into the dry butter mixture, mixing until it forms a dough.

5. Put the dough unto a clean floured surface and knead until smooth.

7. Roll out the dough to about 7-10 mm and cut our shapes with cookie cutter. Sprinkle the sugar on top.

8. On a covered baking sheet, bake for 10-12 minutes until golden brown. Serve warm.

9 comments

  1. gabriela

    HUGE DOUBT… did you leave the 3/4 cup of brown sugar out of the preparation steps on purpose? ’cause I have no idea where or when to put this into the mix now…

  2. Thank you Gabriela! The brown sugar goes in during step 4 with the eggs and molasses. Thank you for flagging it. I hope you like the cookies 🙂

  3. Jenny dean

    Tried this and the dough is sitting here very very wet, shall I add more oat flour ?

  4. Jenny dean

    sadly this is the second time I’ve tried, they didn’t work. Is something missing? I see you mentioned flax but no mention of it in the ingredients itself. These basically turned into a gingerbread pizza

  5. Thank you for trying the recipe Jenny. The dough should not have come out that wet – I used organic oat flour, and the dosage should produce a thick dough – not superdry but not super wet either. Could you add in 1/2 cup more and see if that adds more body? Thank you again for trying and sharing!!!

  6. Jenny dean

    Used organic oat flour as well. However, I have to say it made delicious ginger thins! So there is no flax seed or wheat germ in the recipe then correct? Going to attempt it again tomorrow because I am dying for a good gingerbread cookie and yours looked amazing. One more question, did you add all of the molasses egg mixture of only enough to make the dough?

  7. Jenny dean

    Oh. I see now you’ve added the flax and wheat germ! I am sure that was the problem! Trying again tomorrow!

  8. Thank you for flagging this! One thing about flours – different brands produce different results, and it may be the case for oat flour. For example, I am currently in Paris, and the wheat flour is so different from the U.S. kinds that it produces puffy chocolate chip cookies and sugar cookies – it puffs up so much that you can’t even use cookie cutters with them because the shape does not hold. So I have to get special organic flour in order to make American cookies. I am so grateful for your feedback and for you trying the recipe. Please send me your address and I would love to send you my book. I am not sure if the flax/wheat germ will solve the wetness problem you encountered. I think it may be the difference in flour…Please let me know. I am traveling for a week tomorrow but will bake these again when I get home and let you know :)! Thanks again.

  9. Jenny

    I will definitely be trying them until I figure it out! The cookies that puff sound Devine by the way! I love anything over puffy and delicious. My son currently is going through some very scary and serious allergies, and one thing he loves to pieces is gingerbread cookies so I will have to figure out a way to have this work, lol. I actually used organic gluten free oats and ground them to a cup and a half myself. Is that makes any difference. I hope it works tomorrow!

Leave a comment