Back to Basics – Radish with Miso-Mayo Dip

DSC_0214

Back to Basics

It has been quite some time since I have been able to cook or even go near food. For someone who loves food, this is an extremely difficult predicament. Months of months of being unable to shop at markets, to chop up vegetables, or even get a whiff of anything cooking or simmering in a kitchen of a restaurant – all of this is enough to make me a very depressed woman. Had it not come with its positive side – yes indeed, I am expecting, and the first trimester and beyond brought on unbearable nausea – morning sickness that lasted all day and all night, for days, weeks, months. For my first pregnancy, it really did only last the first three months, but this time, it has continued way way beyond the first trimester. Not being able cook or taste foods has has make these past months extremely trying, especially since I have not been able to cook for my son or my family.

But alas, hopefully, all of this is wearing off.

I am still with the nausea, but I am able to start shopping for food again, chopping up vegetables again, and open and close the fridge door without thinking I will faint.

What women have to go through.

And I said I would never be able to do this again.

But all of this will – I know – lead to something incredible, something life-changing, all over again. I do know this. It is just hard when you have to feel like you are seasick on a rocky boatride for days and days and days.

So all of this has led me to think more about prenatal nutrition, how we can feed ourselves healthy food when we least want it, and when we most need it. But this is another story.

Today, I wanted to share all of this with you, and to begin my journey back to feeding myself, my son and my family with brainfoods and healthy, beautiful foods that can feed the soul in times of need. And have I needed it between this physical state and the busiest time at work – all of which led me to be hospitalized for some days –  but hopefully I am over this big hump and seeing the end of the tunnel – how it feels good to come through to the other side.

So today, I would like to take this journey with you with a very simple radish with miso-mayonnaise recipe, because I have been craving radishes every single day, and Magnus has started to open up to radishes again after rejecting them due to encountering some spicy radishes last summer.  I have been going through at least one bunch of radishes every single day.

DSC_0228

Radishes are surprisingly high in DHA Omega 3 fatty acids, as well as Choline, both great for healthy brain development for both the fetus, kids and adults. It also contains folate, fiber, potassium, Vitamin C and other good things. They have a great crunchy texture that kids love, and with different kinds of dips, like this one, they can have fun with this finger food as they eat.

So for now, it is all about staring simple, making it easy for myself in the kitchen as I try to feed myself, the growing little bean and our family in the best way possible.

I so look forward to sharing all of this with you as my appetite goes back to normal and I get bigger by the day.

DSC_0209DSC_0240DSC_0243

Radish with Miso Mayo Dip

A Bunch of fresh organic radish

2 tablespoons organic mayonnaise

1 teaspoon miso paste

1 teaspoon ground sesame

Dash of lemon

 1.     Wash and trim the ends of the radishes and drain.

2.     In a bowl, whisk together the mayonnaise, miso paste, ground sesame and lemon.

3.     Serve the dip in a small bowl next to a plate of radishes.

 

3 comments

  1. M.

    I’ve never seen red radishes in that elongated shape before! Are they are a certain variety? They’re perfect for finger foods.

  2. Welcome back – looks delicious!

  3. Thank you Halona! And Dear M, these are organic French radishes. They are indeed perfect for finger foods! They are crunchy and not spicy, as opposed to some round red radishes. Have a try if you see them at a local organic market!

Leave a Reply

