Healthy Snacks: Brownies with Flax and Chick Pea Flour

DSC_0025

I think this is Magnus’  favorite snack. I usually bake 2-4 batches since they disappear so quickly. I cut it in very small chunks and serve it with a knife and fork with a big glass of milk, and he can never get enough of it.

Using chick pea flour and ground flaxseeds is a great way to add Protein, DHA Omega 3, Iron, Magnesium and other vitamins and minerals to a snack, so that it is not just empty carbs. It also makes for a chewy texture – so you have a dense, dark, double-chocolate brownie with good things inside.

In this recipe I use a small amount of brown sugar, but if you prefer to have it on the sweeter side, you can use 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2 cup.

It is so easy to make that it is always my go-to treat for a special playdate with the kids of afternoon tea for myself.

I am so tempted to make batches upon batches and freeze them, but I am afraid that if I make it too easy on myself, I won’t be able to fit into my jeans come Spring!

I hope you enjoy these brownies.

DSC_0008

DSC_0003

DSC_0014

Brownies with Chick Pea Flour

3/4 cup chick pea/garbanzo bean flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2  cup brown sugar

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon ground flaxseeds

6 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped

1/4 cup cocoa powder

6 tablespoons butter, plus more for baking pan

2 eggs

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

6 tablespoons butter, plus more for baking pan

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a buttered 8 inch square baking pan with parchment paper.

2. Melt the chocolate, butter and cocoa powder in a bowl set over simmering water. let cool.

3. In a bowl, mix together the  chick pea flour, flaxseeds baking powder and salt.

4. In another bowl, mix the eggs, sugar and vanilla together and whisk until pale. Add in the chocolate, then add the flour mixture.

5. Pour batter into the pan and bake for about 15-17 minutes.

Leave a Reply

