Bentos This Week

Sometimes you have phases where every week seems to be packed with events. Luckily, we are in that phase, many days packed with happy and inspiring – that have us running around about town. But many times, that means waking up and having a hard time imagining up new recipes for bento lunchboxes, since you stayed up way too late the night before.

So this week, I went to my simple go-to basics:

– Roasted soy salmon, sliced cucumbers, blueberries, bananas and apple fruit salad and rice,

– Spinach croquettes, tangerine slices, broccoli, cheese chunks and elbow pasta with pesto

– Chestnut muffins, teriyaki chicken, rice and snow peas

– Han and cheese sandwich, baby mozzarella, red pepper slices and grapes

– Rice with sesame and walnut oil, smoked ham slices, kiwi, strawberry, broccoli and strawberries.

I think I will be preparing some chicken meatballs, braised hijiki seaweed, and edamame muffins over the weekend to make things easier on myself from Monday.

And I would not be surviving these mornings without my rice cooker – the multifunctional rice-cooker that keeps rice warm and fresh for days, giving you a break from making rice from scratch every time. I don’t think anyone in Japan can now live without this. I recommend the zojirushi cooker, and at least a 5 cup maker, if not 10 cups. It is handy to be able to make large portions for dinner parties and guests.

I hope you had a happy bento making week – more to come next week…

 

 

Leave a Reply

