Coming home to Shrimp with Okra

It is so nice to come home to your child after a few days away. Magnus stayed up waiting for me to come home and had a lot of secrets to share while we prepared for bed.

It seems like he changed in the past three days – every time I am away from him for even the shortest trips, he seems more articulate, more composed, more independent. And as we read the very last story for the evening, I remembered how everyone told me how fast it would all go – that before I knew it, he would be an adult. It is so true. It is all going by so quickly. Too quickly. I hugged him , read to him and tucked him him, and went straight to the kitchen.

After a long trip, it is great to have a light and easy meal. Actually, my trip home was not too long (3 hours), and I was not famished (ate a ton in Istanbul), but I still wanted something before going to bed.

And I remembered that I had fresh okra in the fridge.

Okra is a great source of fiber, folate, Vitamin C and K, some Omega 3, protein and calcium. And it has the most interesting texture. It is slippery with crunchy seeds. It is an exploration for the mouth and tongue, and kids can have so much fun eating it. Magnus does not like well cooked okra in soups or stews, but he likes the lightly steamed kind with soy sauce drizzled on top. So easy. And it is great as a tapa dish or appetizers with drinks for adults. Combined with shrimp, loaded with DHA Omega 3, it is a protein packed meal.

So I had my little dish, unpacked half-heatedly, and got ready for my bed time.

And was happy to be back home.

Shrimp with Okra

Serves 2

4- 6 large shrimp/prawns

2 cups fresh okra

1 teaspoon salt

3 teaspoons soy sauce

1 teaspoon sesame seeds

1. Peel the shrimp , wash the okra and bring a pot of water to a boil.

2. Add the salt, shrimp and okra to the boiling water and cook for 3-4 minutes. The okra should still be firm and bright green.

3. Drain and peel the shrimp and cut okra into pieces, discarding the end stem.

4. In a bowl, combine okra, soy sauce and sesame. put on a serving plate and place shrimps on top. Serve warm, or can be served cold.

Leave a Reply

