This Week’s Lunchbox-Bentos

The past school year was beyond hectic trying to figure it all out – Magnus’ very difficult transition to school, our first year back to Paris from D.C. dealing with finding a home and unpacking, my first year back to working after giving birth, preparing a manuscript, organizing events and running a consultancy firm, staying up very late each night to get it all done. By June, I was deeply  burnt-out and wanted to go and hide in a cave somewhere far away.

After a summer of replenishing my energy, I feel like I can face it all again.

But differently this time.

This school year, I decided that I need to enjoy the day before it flashes by in rows of days, weeks and months and I can’t remember what happened because I was so busy and beyond exhausted. That I have to take my time. That I have to get a hold of myself and pace things, not running from meetings to meetings to calls and then to endless social functions. That I have to think about things more, reflect before taking action.

And I am starting to get the hang of it. Switching off the phone at midnight. Making myself go to bed before 2 a.m. Planning for the week. Seeing friends. Organizing my shelves. Thinking about what I will make for my son’s lunchbox the night before and not at 7:45 a.m. when everything is about speedy exit out the door.

Making lunchboxes may seem like a very small thing.

And for most people, I know it is an easy feat. But for me, it was a big deal. I took it very seriously, and it was like a constant anchor in my life.

No matter what I was going to do on a given day, even if I could not pick Magnus up from school because I had meetings and even if I could not prepare the dinner that day because of a work event, I knew that he would be well-fed for lunch and it would be food made for him by my own hands. But it was also so challenging – I often wondered how everyone did it – it was like a big secret. What were people packing in there? How quickly were they able to assemble the meals? What were the kids eating everyday? I had heard of mothers who made intricate farm animals from sausages and carved cherry tomatoes into rabbits. How did she do it?

I do love to cook, but I was slower than slow to get anything done at 7 a.m., especially when I would stay up until 3 or 4 a.m. working.

This year, I am going to have more fun, plan ahead, get up earlier, listen to music and sip my tea as I make his lunchbox. Or at least try my best to get those types of days going.

So I thought it would be nice to do a review on Fridays of the Bentos of the week, just to see if I was able to get a good variety in the meals.

So here is this week’s lunchbox-bentos.

For the five school days, for the carb, I roatate a pasta, a noodle, a rice dish, some rice onigiri rolls, then a sandwich.

For the protein, I do a some kind of fish, a meat ball, a chicken, pork cutlets then a cured meat – prosciutto or bresaola sandwich. Then fruits and veggies, fresh or dried.

 

Leave a Reply

