Healthy Snacks – Roasted Nori

Nori seaweed is a true superfood. A super brainfood.

Among all the sea vegetables, it contains the highest levels of nutrients. One sheet contains as much fiber as one cup of spinach. More Omega 3 than one cup of avocado. Two sheets of regular sized nori (not the one picture above with Magnus) equals to Vitamin B12 contained in 500 grams of pork. It also contains calcium equal to 600 cc milk or that of one egg.

Needless to say (and not because I grew up on eating it), I am a big fan.

It is unfortunate most people know then under the term ‘seaweed’ implying weeds – something that is not of value, to be discarded, worthless. Nicer sounding when referred to as ‘sea vegetables’, no?

Nori is perhaps the easiest to eat and the most consumed in the U.S. and elsewhere in the West. It is the paper-thin black seaweed that sushi is wrapped in. Many people have grown used to them, despite perhaps an initial aversion (I remember expressions of sheer shock and disgust back in the 80’s when friends at my New Jersey elementary school discovered my family ate seaweed – they still had a lot to discover in dismay after that, as we also ate all sorts of strange things like raw sea urchins or eggs of flying fish…).

Nori is sold all health food stores, Whole Foods, Trader-Joe’s and in many supermarkets today.

Most of all, children love them. They gobble them up like you would not believe.

The texture, when toasted or roasted, is more crunchy than a potato chip, with the thin shreds dissolving in your mouth after a few bites of wrestling the broken up pieces within your teeth. Kids can snack on them as they would crackers or popcorn, and they are getting a serious session of essential-vitamins/minerals-power-boost without even knowing it.

Nori comes in different size and shapes, and Trader Joe’s carries great snack-size packages of Korean-style nori (flavored and salted).

I usually buy the large Japanese nori sheets from Whole Foods – pictured with Magnus – because they come unflavored and unsalted. They are usually not as crunchy as the Korean-style nori, but I roast them quickly in the oven, sprinkle salt (or not) and they are just as crunchy without containing too much salt.

If you have doubts about your own child liking seaweed, please try it once. Chances are that they will love it.

Roasted Nori

Ingredients:

2 Large Japanese Sushi-style Nori

1 teaspoon of sea salt

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Prepare baking sheet with parchment paper.

3. Place nori sheets, sprinkle with salt and roast for 2-4 minutes. Not more. They should be light and crunchy.

4. Let cool and serve.

10 comments

  1. Pingback: Fight unhealthy snack attacks with guilt-free munchies | LiveBetter with DrVita.com

  2. kirschplunder

    I had no idea how healthy nori sheets are! I LOVE them! Amazing news 🙂

  3. My 18-month-old loves seaweed. We eat it straight out the pack, unroasted and unflavoured.
    Is good.

  4. Thank you for your comment 🙂 So happy to hear that your little one loves seaweed – and the unflavored kind on top of it! That is the best, actually, since you are not giving added salt or sugar. Where do you get your seaweed?

  5. Reb

    I’ve been a vegetarian most of my life, but I’ve always HATED vegetables and had to use supplements, veggie/fruit juice blends, and other tricks to get my daily dose in. I’m 22 and I recently discovered and tried seaweed and I absolutely LOVE it! I make sure to have my fill of it a day.

  6. Kimaya

    hey I m pregnant can anyone recommend the korean brand of nori which i can eat in my pregnancy…right now in South korea Seoul…i m just worried it does’nt have high level of iodine so plz can anyone put a pic of the korean brand nori which would be safe for me…Thanks in avance 🙂

  7. We got some seaweed snacks, mostly because I like them. But then my 1yr old brothers wanted some of what I was eating, so I ripped a sheet in half and gave a piece to each, and thought “I’m not sure kids that age can even chew that,” but they gobbled it up and have been crazy about it ever since, so that now we stock up on it whenever we can! Sometimes it’s plain, sometimes lightly salted, and I think once it was sweetened; we like it all those ways!

  8. Maryse Ellis

    they are so yummy going to make these tomorrow

  9. Lety

    I’ve read that too much nori is harmful as it has high levels of iodine. It can cause serious trouble to the thyroid gland if too much, too often is consumed. I don’t know exact quantities, maybe you can check this info first and add that to your post.

  10. Pingback: 8 Scientifically-Approved Reasons You SHOULD Snack At Work – BuzzFlicker

Leave a Reply

